Melissa2018.JPG

Ny volontør i KFUM og KFUK i Kolding

    Mød den nye volontør i KFUM og KFUK i Kolding Melissa. Hun vil også komme til at lave en del arbejde i distriktet.

    Hi, my name is Melissa and I am the new volunteer at the KFUM/KFUK in Kolding. I am 18 years old and I lived in Germany in a small town that is near to Bielefeld.

    In my freetime the voluntary work at the YMCA takes up a lot of time and I really enjoy that. Apart from that, I love spending time with my friends. I also love spending time outside. In general, I am an outgoing person who enjoys being around people and loves to be active. I started doing voluntary work in the YMCA Gütersloh 4 years ago with a focus on children and youth work.

    Since 2014 until I came here I led a weekly group of children between 6 and 12 together with 5 other volunteers. Moreover I started to do confirmation classes for the confirmands. Between 2014 and now I also did some holiday camps as well as a child care week in the summer holidays which took place in our local YMCA.

    I just got into the YMCA volunteer work when I was a confirmand and on a big camp for confirmands with round about 600 people where I started to feel accepted in a big group of people and felt the connection to God for the first time. That was the time when I started to realize that I want to be a part of this great community- and that is what I became!

    And as I always wanted to see some other places of the world I applied for a volunteership in Europe and talked to a lot of YMCAs via Skype, but the KFUM/KFUK in Kolding really impressed me and I wanted to get part of their community and bring some of my ideas into it as well and I guess that is why I am here now!

    I am really looking forward to have a great time here with many great people and impressions. I would really like to strengthen my faith while giving my best to be a good help for the KFUM/KFUK Kolding and get used to the daily life in a totally different YMCA with different traditions and activities and of course a different language. I am convinced that this is a great challenge I am (hopefully) going to master and a big chance to grow as a person!